|Legion helps Minford Students - Summer 2005|
The James Irwin Post of the American Legion 622, was formed on May 16, 1946. The post is named for Sgt. James Irwin who was the first soldier from Minford killed in World War II. Click here for the James Irwin story.
James Irwin Memorial
American Legion Post 622
The present-day site of the James Irwin American Legion Post 622 has a rich history. Orginally, The Grand Army of the Republic was started on the property to honor those soldiers who served in the Civil War. When all of the original men began to pass away, a new group of men started The Sons of the Union Veterans of the Civil War. These men wanted to honor their fathers and the contribution they made to our country.
After World War II ended, the American Legion was formed. The first Commander of the James Irwin American Legion Post 622 was Mr. Glen R. Shuter. There were 28 members in the group.
In 1995, the Sons of the American Legion was formed at the James Irwin Post. Any male decendant of a legion veteran, or any veteran may join the organization.